What will you talk about if you talk to a stranger?
I and my friend had a discussion about this topic this morning. We argue if we should ask one’s work at the first meeting.
I said yes. He said no.
He said working only takes 8 hours per day and the real life of a person is in the rest of the day. What people do in their free time will say more about them, rather than at work. He told me to ask about hobbies, and things in daily life instead.
For me, meeting new people is a way to explore the world. I want to know what other people are doing out there. I want to see the world moving through their eyes. That’s why I want to know their job. I argue that I just want to know the job they are doing, not how they are doing their jobs.
So, which approach do you prefer?
If you can ask a stranger one question, what would it be?