Alice
the day is long
close the door and lie down
silence
the only lullaby for tonight
darkness holds me close
like a careless lover

calling my name
a voice that so familiar
I reply,
that voice
becomes distant
my name
becomes
so distant

please stay
I’m lost
running to me
someone
“there’s the way to escape”

pull the blanket over the head
like a scared child
lie curled up
like a little cat in a stormy night

let’s get out of here!

searching for
an exit
am I Alice?
a clumsy girl trying to get out of her mad world
is this Wonderland?
Queen of Hearts,
please let me be who I am
Queen of Hearts,
please let me be
a white rose

a light
there’s a light!
careless lover,
let me go now

get out of the blanket
breathe out
it’s time to grow up
everyone has to
Alice has to
don’t be scared
to be a white rose.
29/09/2018


____________
This poem was written as a creative project for my English class. At first, I intended to write a short story but nothing came across my mind. So I thought about poetry. Because it was a creative project, so why not? It was actually also my first time ever to write a poem, especially in English. So excuse my unskilled poem.
"Alice" is inspired by the image of the little girl named Alice in Lewis Carroll’s “Alice's Adventures In Wonderland”. Alice is known for her curiosity. I believe we can find easily "Alice" in ourselves, a childish, curious and lost version of ourselves. Ever since I was little, I have always wondered about the meaning of this story. And to me, "Alice's Adventures In Wonderland" is not just a story for children. It holds incredibly many layers of meaning through the appearance of the Queen of Hearts, The Mad Hatter, Cheshire Cat,... or Wonderland and Alice, in general (I will spend some time writing about it next time). 
The poem, "Alice", portrays a lonely night when I can finally lie down but it is also when I feel the most insecure about my thoughts, just like many other people. The words may sound naive and immature, which vividly reflects the soul of the "writer". Young, curious, and scared. 
File:Alice in wonderland 1951.jpg
Alice from Walt Disney's Alice in Wonderland (1951)
Thank you for reading. Please let me know if there is something you find weird or not right. I am hungry to learn and improve myself. 
(Pretend here is my name
because I don't know what name
I should have to feel like myself 
and cool at the same time)