Xuân Này Con Không Về - Spring This Year I Won't Return Tác giả/Author:Trịnh Lâm Ngân
Con biết bây giờ mẹ chờ tin con | I know now you are waiting for news from me, mom
khi thấy mai đào nở vàng bên nương. | As you see the peach and apricot blossoms blooming golden in the rice fields
Năm trước con hẹn đầu xuân sẽ về | Last year, I promised to return at the beginning of spring
nay én bay đầy trước ngõ | But today, the swallows fly full before at our gate
mà tin con vẫn xa ngàn xa. | yet news of me remains distant.
Ôi! Nhớ xuân nào thuở trời yên vui | Oh! Remembering that spring, when all was calm and joyful
nghe pháo giao thừa rộn ràng nơi nơi | Hearing firecrackers welcoming the Lunar New Year resounding everywhere
bên mái tranh nghèo ngồi quanh bếp hồng | By the humble thatched roof, sitting around the warm stove
trông bánh chưng chờ trời sáng | Watching the Chung cakes waiting for the dawn
đỏ hây hây những đôi má đào. | the pink blush on the cheeks.
Nếu con không về chắc mẹ buồn lắm, | If I don't return, you might be very sad, mom
mái tranh nghèo không người sửa sang. | The humble thatched roof will have no one to repair.
Khu vườn thiếu hoa vàng mừng Xuân. | The garden will lack the golden flowers celebrating Spring.
Đàn trẻ thơ ngây chờ mong anh trai | The innocent young ones will eagerly await for their older brother
sẽ đem về cho tà áo mới | To bring home a new jacket
ba ngày xuân đi khoe xóm giềng. | so that they show off in the neighborhood for days of spring.
Con biết không về mẹ chờ em trông |I know if I don't return, Mom will wait and my younger siblings will expect for me
nhưng nếu con về bạn bè thương mong. | But if I do return, my friends will miss me dearly.
Bao lứa trai cùng chào xuân chiến trường | Many young men together welcome spring on the battlefield
không lẽ riêng mình êm ấm. | It doesn't make sense if I am the only one enjoying peace and warmth?
Mẹ ơi! Con xuân này vắng nhà. | Oh Mom! This spring I am absent from home.