Focus inward to learn who you are, and accept your authentic "self", even it is a mixed-up soul.
What I have discovered through growing up is that this world is the very vast, very wonderful one and there are so many amazing, beautiful things to discover. But the most important journey I think all of us will go through is a journey in ourselves, to find our truth, our integrity, and to find who we are. In our culture, we are told that if we are beautiful, if we are skinny, if we are successful, famous, v..v.. if everyone loves us then we'll be happy. But... it's just not entirely true.
I will start with a poem that I wrote when I wasn't very happy:
Who am I
Who am I trying to be
Not myself
Anyone but myself
Living in a fantasy to bury the reality
Making myself the mystery
A strong facade disguising the misery
Empty but beyond the point of emptiness
Full to the brim of fake confidence
I'm hurting but don't tell anyone
No one needs to know
Don't show all you've failed 
Always okay, always fine
I give up
I give up giving up
I am lost
I don't need to be saved
I need to be found.
Basically, it's kind of just the same rate occurring of not knowing who you are and feeling. And it's obviously not positive thoughts or feelings, started when I was around 18 and 20. From my personal experience that denying your self-expression can actually lead to depression. For most of the time of my university life, I have traveled two parallel paths - by training I was a business person, but by passion I am an artist. The shift for me came in when I was experiencing my quarter-life crisis, with constantly feeling uncertain about my own path in life. Jack Kerouac describes the feelings of uncertainty best in his novel On the road with the line, "I had nothing to offer anybody except my own confusion." I believe this confusion of which Kerouac writes is an active confusion - a desire to seek answers for the question who I am. 
So, who are you really? When asked, "Who are you?", most people respond with their age, ethnic background, job or position in life. In fact, these are all the programming of our self-image and how we describe ourselves to others since childhood. In other words, the socialization process shapes our sense of self-identity, and little by little a social mask is formed, and we behave according to the rules of our family or religion or community, all in an attempt to fit in and be accepted. Oprah Winfrey once said, "Often we don't realize who we are meant to be because we are so busy trying to live out someone else's ideas." The phrase "Become who you are" is popular these days, and now is often seen or heard in online social networks. This phrase was actually quoted from the ancient Greek lyric poet of Pindar, "Become such as you are, having learned what that is."
For me, I began my journey as a searcher by immersing myself in various roles, which I called a journey of the world outside. This would allow you to communicate with people from all walks of life, and learn a lot from them and open your mind. My most meaningful lessons have been in interactions with people and valuing them as individuals. Every single person we meet in life has their own stories, their struggles and something for us to learn. Along with real-experiences in life, I have spent more time on my inner-soul exploration, and it is the journey outside, together with our reactions, our feelings, our thoughts being one of the materials for seeking our origin. Particularly, I start with thinking about what I fascinate about, what arises deep-down emotions from my heart, or just what makes me happy. In my opinion, the combination of both the in- and out-side journeys is the best way to find your core values and what you want to pursue in life. And finally, be honest and have the courage to accept what you have figured out. Sometimes, something inside you is what makes you surprising and not familiar, or maybe you just ignore it the whole time.