If you're a rainbow chaser, that essay should be a must-read
But if you are not, you should read that too, as that was beautifully written and deserved to be treasured. 

Goodbye to all that is a personal essay written by Joan Didion. It had been described as a gold standard for personal essays after published. With seven pages long, the essay covers the love of young Joan for New York,  since the moment she arrived at the city till her last-minute there.
Because it's a personal essay, there is nothing like a plot or twist or whatever complicated within. There was simply a story of a young girl who came to New York as dreaming of it as the golden land for the freedom souls and vowed to only pay a six months visit, but turned out living there much longer than that, and only decided to leave because of someone else. The point is, Joan did illustrate the essay so beautifully, vividly under every single word. Her feelings were true, her memories were alive, and readers can see by their own eyes and feel through the sentences.
I first came across Goodbye to All that in a collection of Joan Didion which name I've already forgotten. Then being engrossed into it right at its first sentence: "It is easy to see the beginnings of things, and harder to see the ends." Because that's so true.
I don't know exactly how or why I've always related my life to that young lady finding opportunity in a place I've never been to. Maybe it's because we're both young and we make mistakes and I also have been stuck to my golden land. It took young Joan eight years, or should I say New York took eight years of her twenties. Coincidentally, I'm in my twenties, and I've been in the place that I'm now live my "let's call it a normal life" for more than eight years. So I wonder when will I move on?  Sooner or later but still I'm not so sure when. Maybe until I stop treasuring my loneliness anymore.
Have you ever dream about a place where you can make your dreams come true, and paint your marvelous future on. But when time passes by, you're stuck right in that place because things just haven't quite worked out the way they should, and you don't know whether you can make it or not. I have, and every time my soul is crushed, I read that essay.
I can't say all Joan's works are my type, I'm just personally really fond of Goodbye to all that. If you ask me what is my favorite excerpt, I'll quote the entire essay. Read it, maybe you'll thank me later.