I just realized that I rarely ever talk to my father. I told him that I love him for the first time last June. You may think that this is normal for a guy not to express his emotions. Trust me, it is not. Not for me, at least. I am not the type of person who you would call shy, timid, or silent. I am the confident, sharp, and talkative kind of guy that some people adore while others just love to hate. The fact that I am not really talking to him is quite out of character. What is keeping us from really talking?- Us!
Our personalities are really similar. Easy-going, strong-headed, honest, straightforward, and short temper- a combination of highly combustible characteristics. Don't be mistaken. We do speak to each other, yet we don't listen or expect to be listened to. We just throw words at one another until everyone is frustrated. That is usually how we communicate.
Looking back, when we do really talk to one another, I feel that we somewhat realize that we are more alike than we are different. I wish I could know more about him than that he is my father, he is a good man, and he cares about his family.