Source: <a href="https://www.indiewire.com/2016/04/beyonces-lemonade-is-a-celebration-of-black-identity-analysis-289327/">Indiewire</a>
Source: Indiewire
Beyonce, by far, is one of my favorite artists for not only her incredible artistry but also the political and humanitarian stances in every music piece. And I’d like to talk about her second visual album “Lemonade”.
Lemonade features 11 chapters and is mainly inspired by the mantra "I was served lemon, but I made lemonade." The entire album portrays the poignant roller coaster, illustrating Beyonce’s emotional stages of what it feels like to be a black woman and a victim of adultery: “Grief, suffering, joy, and forgiveness.”
Along with the music video, I was intrigued by the well-structured narrative, which had an intermittent voice from Warsan Shire's spoken poems.
The poetry magically associates with my fragile sentiment and surprisingly, makes me feel the feel of a natural woman. Not all the metaphors, not all the in-depth messages. The reflection stops at the threshold of “female intuition,” which I've experienced in every sexual-romantic relationship in my life. That's a part of me that I sometimes hid, or rejected, or even tried to kill in my previous intimacies. The flow of the poem is reminiscent of the way I healed my soul from inner pain after a breakup. From the intuition of smelling the betrayal, the anger of striving desperately to do anything in the hopes of reigniting former love, the denial of being abandoned, the emptiness,... then to the acceptance of being vulnerable, the forgiveness of what happened, resurrection of love, and the hope of being held in the arms of someone who will care for me as the way I deserve to be cared for.
Lastly, love tragedies can strike me in any form, and I believe in a certain way, I can always find love in my heart and serenity in my mind.
“True love brought salvation back into me. With every tear came redemption and my torturer became my remedy. So we're gonna heal. We're gonna start again”.
Redemption - Warsan Shire