Growing up as a child, I just knew that I love birthdays so much. Never a single day in 20 years of existence on Earth that I am not counting down to my upcoming birthday, that's why I've done too many shows, podcasts, and even this tradition of writing something reflective of my "new self" every year.
This year's birthday is so special (as well as others) that it's the bittersweet farewell of my teenage years. Yes, I'm no longer a teenager, guys. That means I might be too old to binge-watch teen series after teen series. I am not even the target reader of Hoa Hoc Tro anymore. But to be serious, in a very ageist way of thinking, 20 means the time you have to start taking care of yourself now. If anything I learned from this journey of teenage, and especially in my 19-time, being a young adult is an alone journey. Friends, family, co-workers... they still care about you, but you have to be responsible for your own emotional ride.
Time is brutal, thus super luxurious than any Hermes bags we are thirsty of. As a teen, there were times I wished to grow up very quickly, to soon be that mature, independent, attractive, high-performance, golden man on TV. But I guess now I hope days can start a little later, just enough time for me to have a peaceful, deep, relaxing sip of it all by myself.
To my 20-self, you've just unlocked a decade of youth, memories, love, career, hope, adventure, and joy, but also breathless moments, depression, loss, grief, and the list goes on. People often say your 20s will greatly determine who you are, and who you will be in your later life. But this is something I really disagree with ageism. Bro, you will always get the time to shine. Feel your own rhythm, and sing when you feel it coming. Being active, determined, ambitious but not rushing. And finally, let love present in your life. U deserve it.