Yesterday, an old friend of mine suddenly contacted me on Facebook. He was a fellow student I got to know when I was in Singapore 9 years ago, and the last time we talked was about 6 or 7 years ago. He said there was an emergency and needed my help.
He went on explaining his situation. One of his Vietnamese friends was attempting suicide and there was none of her family members around to save her. She lives in HCMC, I live in Hanoi, and so I had to ask one of my friends in HCMC to contact the authority. Both of us tried to call 113 but the person-in-charge abruptly hung up after speaking a few lines. Then my friend had to call the local district police department.
Luckily, my Singaporean friend managed to get her on the phone and kept her talking long enough that her father came back. The situation was resolved without much intervention from my side. He thanked me for my help, although I hardly did anything.
That's pretty much the gist of it.
That Singaporean guy is the kind of friend you wish you'd have - the guy who is willing to try every single possibility to save his precious friends without a second thought. He is truly a hero - a hero without cape.
What about me? If I were him, there would be a non-zero chance that I wouldn't go as far as him. Nor had I ever truly saved anyone. I wonder why.
Monster doesn't wear cape.
Moral of the story: Never underestimate the severity of mental illness.