I don’t have many friends. Only a few. But all of them moved to other cities or went study abroad.
Luckily, I didn’t feel much lonely because I was quite busy at work.
Although I have almost no friend, I don’t make new ones. I'm quite mean to my colleagues and give a little shit when someone is unhappy with me. I don’t do nonsense stuff. I only care about people who are important to me, who are living thousands of miles far from me.
In short, I’m okay and used to live my life without my friends around.
But until I’ve got a new friend, a true friend. I realize not having friends in life sucks.
I might not feel sad, or lonely, but I was not really happy.
After a quite long time, I’ve got my new best friend (I don’t know if he considers me as his best friend. Even though he doesn’t, it doesn’t matter)
We go running together. After each session, we take a walk around the lake, talking about everything. We share our opinions, our plans, our thoughts, stuff that I never share with anyone else.
During one of those conversations, a thought suddenly crosses my mind “Hey, I didn’t do this for such a long time. This feels so great! From now on, he is my friend, my closest friend”
This is the first time in my life I understand what it is to have a friend to accompany in life, “a fellow” (as we call each other)
As a saying goes: “If you want to go fast, go alone. If you want to go far, go together”
I prove the first phase, and he proves me the second phase of that saying. We truly have gone far to our running goal. And we will probably go far together in our lives too.
Being friends with him is the happiest thing I have recently, maybe for recent years :)
Thank you!