It makes me realize: life is a gift, but life is also problematic; life is struggling, but life moves on. From the beginning, I expected this movie should be somewhat a journey where Charlie & Nicole, after a shaky marriage, which led to a foreseeable divorce, finally learned to understand each other. Turning out it wasn’t. When it came to the end of the divorce court, Charlie still didn’t even try to listen to his wife. This movie didn’t intend to make this fail marriage the faults from both of them, which stands out from most movies I watched before because it obviously Charlie’s arrogance and selfishness that makes Nicole the most miserable woman I have ever seen on screen. I never expect these in modern marriage. He even wanted her to be car crashed.
There’s a scene when Charlie just came back from a trip. He greeted everyone else in his wife’s family, except for Nicole. He only gave Nicole one single kiss, and that was it. Ridiculously, Nicole’s sister even had more: a kiss on the cheek, a glass of water, and even a piece of advice for her stage play. Can you imagine that? How would you feel if you were Nicole? If I were her, I would have killed myself because at least that kind of pain doesn’t last for years. I was in shock at the scene when they finally talked. It wasn’t the “talk.” They were yelling at each other and not a single second listening. I’ve never seen so clearly how people can try to hurt their beloved ones with those ugly sharp words. I was terrified.
For the whole time watching, I was hoping for a happy ending. I was waiting, patiently through all the peaks and twists, and then nothing. Who am I kidding? Cause “Marriage story” is not some kind of Cinderella, duh? Honestly, I didn’t expect a happy ending because I was over that stage. But I did hope for a better end for their marriage, something like they would work things out, talk to each other, and realize what they had was priceless. The ending scene burst me into tears, which I have to be crystal clear that I didn’t expect at all. When Charlie read the letter of things Nicole loves about him, he cried, painfully, because now he finally listens and understands, for the first time, everything that Nicole ever wanted to tell him. But as I said, life moves on. Nicole was in grieve, but she already moved on with life. Good for her, now it’s time to good for him, but it’ll be forever now a blue piece of memory for both of them.
I wish they did communicate when things weren’t that bad. In this movie they did almost everything for the divorce process, even the ugliest stuff to win the full custody of their child. There was just one thing they didn’t: talking to each other. I wish Nicole told Charlie every anxiety, feeling and desire she has. And I wish Charlie stopped for a minute to think for Nicole’s dreams and happiness too, not just his. I do think they were a perfect match, but to be together, only love or the same tune is not enough.
What kind of love story do I want to draw for myself? Also, you?
I wish they did communicate when things weren’t that bad. In this movie, they did almost everything for the divorce process, even the ugliest stuff, to win the full custody of their child. There was just one thing they didn’t: talking to each other. I wish Nicole told Charlie every anxiety, feeling and desire she has. And I wish Charlie stopped for a minute to think for Nicole’s dreams and happiness too, not just his. I believe they were a perfect match, but only love or the same tune is not enough to be together.
What kind of love story do I want to draw for myself? Also, you?