Its has been two years since we've separated. Last year I sent you some books and a long message, in which I said that would be my last birthday wish you received from me. Turn out, It was not.
Your birthday this year, I know we both are moving on okay and we decide to consider each other good friends, yet I am still don't know if I should do something or stay quiet, if I should give you something as a gift (because you gave me a book on my birthday). I would feel bad if I didnt do anything, but I feel strange if we continue to give each other gifts and messages when we are no longer in a relationship, not to mention it was not a very healthy one. Still, I still send you a message, as a friend, of course.
We decided to forgive each other, we do not blame each other anymore, we trust each other and willing to give each other a chance to still appear in the other person's life with a clear borderline, we respect each other and be supportive in the way we can.
You were the love of my life, you used to mean so much to me and I have to admit it was hard to act "normal", or "friend-zone" you after so much we had. Thinking back, I still couldnt see why we were so in love, but it's all over now, it's ok to leave it like that.
For the past two years, I have been working hard for my healing journey, been embracing me more than ever before, and have seen some major progresses. I am proud and thankful for it.
I know there have been some thoughts in my mind recently as to how to contact you, normally and I havent figured it out yet. However, for my own sake, I will skip it for now, I will not give it too much thought and instead will focus on myself, my growth and my enlightenment. It was a great journey I may say, but it's time to end the cycle. It's time to really move on and choose to live the best life I can make.
As I said, you used to be a very important person to me. Now as we separate, you still have a "slot" in my heart but it is not the same as before. That slot is to treasure our memories, good and bad, happy and hurtful, and our ending is what we choose to be happy and for the other to be peaceful too. I let you go and I choose to be happy without you. Thank you and happy birthday to you.
Sincerely,
L