Meet Choi !
I just found out about this new Youtube channel of a girl named Michelle Choi. She's calm and knows how to take good care of herself. She's not trying to be perfect in front of the camera. I love her personality.
Choi's casually making her meals everyday
Choi's casually making her meals everyday
This is Ivan, Choi's boyfriend.
They have been together for two years now. And I realized that they're getting into the peaceful phase. I guess the "tingly butterfly feeling" is no longer as strong as the beginning. They have arguments too (and yeah, their latest one was about who would pick the dinner, I know!). There's one thing I realized: Even though Choi is doing very well on her own, it seems like she's somewhat too humble in front of Ivan. Because Ivan is older than her, maybe? Ivan is 31 years old now, and I guess Choi is in her 20s. It looks like to me that in the relationship, if the boyfriend was older, the girl shall be in the vibe of obeying most of the time. This situation is not healthy cause we seem to adjust behavioral direction based on ages only, not the quality of mind.
Choi was sharing about her breakup
Choi was sharing about her breakup
Sadly I just figured out that Choi and Ivan decided to part ways. I don't know how to feel about this. I got emotional too. Even though I'm in the middle of my crisis again, I also can't help appreciating this tough time. Because it kind of forces me to see many things: mostly ugly truths. Choi's current life is my dream: being an Asian living alone independently in a foreign country. But now, watching her videos gives me realistic angles of that lifestyle. Do I want to live like that? I'm not sure. It's somewhat gloomy.
If there is one thing I can learn from Choi, it would be her spontaneous spirit. As far as my best guess, she's been living in the States since she was little (that explains her distinctive English accent, I love it). Then she went to Korea for college for six years. Then one day, after a month of visiting her friend in NYC, she just spontaneously decided to move here. She's definitely an independent type of woman. She makes decisions and learns to do everything on her own. That's fantastic cause I can tell that she's doing an excellent job taking care of herself.